If I have one of these, can I be a badass?

I tried to take a picture of the actual gray stripe that is forming in my own, actual hair.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t show up on film because it isn’t really a gray stripe, yet.  It’s more of a Gray Stripe-in-Waiting.  It’s there, more on the underlayers than on top, and whether or not you can see it depends on where I part my hair, where the curls fall, and how the light hits it.

But trust me, it’s there.  And I’m not sure how I feel about this.  These creeping gray highlights have been coming for a while.  On the one hand, I’ve been dreading the day when they become more visible to the casual observer.  On the other hand …. some really badass ladies have gray stripes!   For example:

Musical Badass:  Bonnie Raitt

Key Word: Integrity 

If any younger folks are still in the room, Bonnie is a musician who achieved international prominence in the early nineties.  She didn’t just spring onto the scene, though.  She had already spent 20-some-odd years paying her dues and doing her thing on the blues scene, rather than jumping into every pop trend to come along.  Pop music is often lousy with sugar-coated, pastel-colored, 20-something girls — but Bonnie showed us what a real woman over 40 can do.  The music world discovered and appreciated her quiet strength and uniqueness, and she spent the next few years snapping up every Grammy Award that wasn’t bolted down.   What’s not to love about that?

Biker Chic Badass: Gemma from TV’s Sons of Anarchy.

Key Word: Scary!

Even though Gemma wears slightly more conventional highlights, to me she’s totally got that Badass Gray Stripe vibe.  Played to perfection by Katey Sagal, Gemma is First Lady of the Sons of Anarchy motorcycle club (or, as she calls herself, “Old Lady” to the club’s leader, Clay).  The Sons are a pretty tough bunch, but they’re no match for Gemma.  Sure, she hangs with outlaws.  She may have been complicit in her previous lover’s murder.  She even smacked a girl with a skateboard for sleeping with her man.  But physical violence isn’t the worst way she’ll mess you up.  Oh, no.  One steely-eyed glare, followed by a withering put-down, and you’re a pool of jello on the floor.  Seriously.

Fashion Badass: Stacey from TLC’s What Not to Wear.

Key Word: Fabulous! 

Stacy is a different breed of Badass.  She doesn’t sing the blues or hang with bikers, at least not to my knowledge, but she can rock a pointy shoe like nobody’s business.   More importantly, she somehow finds a way to be absolutely ruthless with her fashion-challenged clients, pulling no punches in her criticism,  while still being charming and funny.   Would you hug somebody who told you that you dressed like a hooker?  I think not.  Yet her makeover “victims” do just that, week after week.

So I don’t know…. with company like this, I think a gray stripe might be an awesome thing to have!  What do you think?  Can I be a badass, too, when I grow up?

About Anne @ The Frump Factor

Reflections on beauty and style, for women who weren't born yesterday. Bring your sense of humor and "Fight the Frump" with me!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Humor, Over40 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to If I have one of these, can I be a badass?

  1. Liz G. says:

    I’d like to add one more streaked musical badass to the list: Marcia Ball. Key Word: Rollicking! (OK, I got that from her agent’s website. It’s true, though.)

  2. Mary says:

    I have a gray stripe that appears way before my visit to the hairdresser. I always think no one will notice it but I do have one co-worker who loves to remind me its there! Next time I’ll tell him its there because I’m a bad-ass!

  3. Meredith says:

    I wish that I could claim that all my gray hair was simply because I was a badass. Who would have thought I’d be 50% gray by 38? UGH!

  4. Charlotte says:

    Just discovered you through the Lady Blogger’s tea party and am so glad that I stopped by 🙂

    I say rock your gray stripe! It’s important to embrace these changes as they happen. I don’t take it as a sign we’re getting old, but rather, a mark of all the things we’ve learned along the way in life. And these are all very beautiful ladies indeed!

  5. Tina says:

    I don’t have a gray stripe…yet…but I do have enough random gray hairs that if I combined them all, I could make a very creative gray stripe somewhere on my head. Guess I’m just gonna have to settle for Wannabe Badass. :o)

  6. T says:

    mine is more of a white-stripe in waiting… in my UBER dark brown hair. I tried to disguise it with blonde highlights… but it’s pricy to keep them done and they’re currently a little grown out… and it’s funny to see that some of the highlights still go all the way to the roots (ummm, yeah – those are the free ones!)

    Best invention ever – highlights in a mascara tube – I just touch ’em up if I’m going anywhere and ta’dah – it’s almost believable!

  7. Rapunzel says:

    Just found your blog via Lady Blogger’s Tea Party, loooovve it! I, too, am fighting the frump..groan..

    May I add my favorite gray-striped lady to the mix? Lillian Munster! You can’t get more badass than she!

  8. Ruby says:

    Ran across your blog through the Lady Bloggers Tea Party….really enjoyed the post …having recently let all my hair go natural , but it is all over silver stripes it was fun to see others letting their natural self shine through too!

  9. Kelsey says:

    Just try to remember that grey stripe= bad ass. Grey roots= tacky. Always, always remember this ;o)

  10. ZippyChix4 says:

    Next time I get to the hairdressers a little late, I will make sure everyone knows that I am not gray…I am a badass! Love your blog…good times here!

  11. Classic NYer says:

    It takes a badass to rock her colors!

    Stopping by from LBS…

  12. michelle says:

    Go for it girlfriend! Your worth it…oh wait…thats color in a box…not bad-ass. Well if it were me, I’d be more confused then ever, I can’t make up my mind if I’m bad-ass or just dumb-ass.
    Comming over from Lady Blogger Tea Party

  13. Grace says:

    My grandmother is 86 years old and still only has a tiny bit of gray. It’s still mostly brown. My mom, who’s 67, has no gray. So I’m going to have to find another way to be a badass. Any suggestions?

  14. Tightwad says:

    Grey stripes are pretty cool – I like Stacey’s on purpose one. Thanks for visiting my blog and dropping by the the LBS!

  15. Megan McGurk says:

    One of the characters in my novel (in progress) sports a rockin’ grey streak.
    They’re fabulous.

Comments are closed.