Jewels for a requiem

My chorus will be performing Mozart’s Requiem in a couple of weeks.  This beautiful, moody and mysterious piece is one of choral music’s most beloved works.

If you ever saw the film or play Amadeus, you may recall that Mozart was feverishly composing the Requiem while he himself was dying.  Other composers had to complete the piece, so there is a certain amount of intrigue and controversy about which parts are truly “his.”

In case you didn’t know, a requiem is a funeral mass.  The music is set to sacred texts asking God to grant eternal rest to the souls of the departed.   Lore has it that Mozart’s requiem was commissioned by a mysterious, anonymous messenger, who the composer came to believe was a portent of his own imminent death.  He even told his wife that he was composing the requiem for his own funeral.  He wasn’t far off.

Now, I’m not a religious person, per se.  But when I am singing with a choir, I think I come close to understanding what religious faith might feel like. My one small voice blends with the others, becoming part of something larger than myself.   I do my very best to sing well, but there will inevitably be moments when I do not.  I can’t always control that.  Nor can I control what the other singers do.   But if I falter, another voice will fill in the gap, just as my voice may fill in if the singer next to me falters.

When each of us is absorbed in our own part, we are often unable to perceive the intricate beauty of the whole.  We can’t always hear exactly how the parts intersect and intertwine.  Every now and then, though, moments of awareness do seep through, thrilling us.

If I stopped singing in the middle of a performance, nobody would notice.   Yet the sound would be irrevocably altered, no matter how imperceptible the change might be.  In short, when I sing in the choir, my one small voice suddenly means something.  And I think it means something precisely because it doesn’t really matter at all.

When we perform this piece, my hope is that a wave of beautiful sound will wash over our audience, sweeping them up, allowing them to be moved in whatever way such things move them – musically, spiritually, or otherwise.   (I also hope that we don’t miss an important entrance, causing one of those horrifying onstage trainwrecks that occur from time to time.  But this is beside the point).

Perhaps it’s  no coincidence that we will all be wearing black at this performance.  We do so not because it’s a requiem, but because we are a choir.  Some choirs have uniforms.  Others, like mine, allow members to wear their own clothes within a certain dress code.  All black is an easy dress code.

Now, of course, the real reason we all dress the same is because a large group of people onstage in different colors and patterns would be jarring to the eye.  We don’t want the audience to be distracted from the music.  But I like to think that our outfits reflect our larger mission.  Just as our voices blend together, so does our appearance.  We are not 40-50 separate individuals.  We are one body, one voice.

When you look at us up close, you can see that we are not the same.  The women, in particular, have very different interpretations of  “all black, long skirt or slacks.”  Some dress very elegantly, in the same kind of gown you might wear for a black tie function (no sequins or cleavage, though).  Others wear what I think of as the classic catering outfit:  plain black trousers and button-down blouse.

Me, I choose an all black skirt and top combination that is very, very simple:

I like to think that this outfit isn’t frumpy, but I may be kidding myself.  I know it’s very, very humble.  (I also know that the black tones don’t match — a fact that I am choosing to ignore).  I wear it because I just happened to own these pieces when I joined my first chorus 5 years ago.  I wear it because the comfortable, lightweight fabrics breathe.  (Under those hot lights, sweat happens).  I also wear it because I don’t want to shell out more money for something I only need twice a year.

This time, though, with this particular piece, I’d like to think my outfit carries deeper meaning.  When we perform the requiem, it will not be about me.  It will not be about fashion.  These things will not exist.   Nuns wear habits, monks wear robes, and many individuals – from a variety of faiths – choose clothes that symbolize the suppression of the self, showing humility before God.  Why shouldn’t I give myself up to the glory of the music by stripping away superficial exteriors?

True, such ideas were not part of my secular, post ‘60s upbringing.  My youth was bookended by Free to Be You and Me and Express Yourself.  Suppression of the self before God was not implanted in my rule book.  But when I become part of the chorus, singing this hauntingly sad and beautiful piece, reminded that the impermanence of this life is the one thing we all share — well, I almost get it.

Requiem æternam dona eis,
Domine
et lux perpetua luceat eis
Grant them eternal rest,
O Lord and may everlasting light shine upon them

So, returning to earth now, here’s my dilemma.  Jewelry, or no jewelry?  We’re permitted to wear it, but it’s not supposed to be flashy or distracting.  Most wear very simple, classy, tasteful gold or silver jewelry.  I, of course, own nothing of the sort.  I own chunky, funky beads and ropes and chains made out of wood, ceramics, turquoise and/or recycled glass.

I have two main options for jewelry.  First, there’s this necklace:


which is pretty and low-key (plus I like the simplicity of the non-precious-metal cord).

Or, I could try this one:

which has a slightly Old World feel about it – evoking a vaguely Gothic-cathedral vibe  without looking too much like an actual cross (which would make me feel dishonest).

If I’m feeling a little more radical, I suppose I could throw caution to the winds and go for this funky recycled glass pendant:

but that seems like more of a longshot.

If I wore one of these necklaces, it might bring a little light to my face.  It would break up the expanse of pale white skin.  It might take the edge off all that black.  After all, even though a requiem is a funeral mass, I don’t want to look as though I’ve already died!

At the same time, I am seriously thinking about going without.  Completely.   I kind of like the idea of just showing up, as I am, unadorned.  (Well, except for makeup.  I know my limits). I could offer my humble, simply dressed self to the group, just as I offer my humble (yet still important) voice.  The group would envelop and absorb me.  Clothes and jewelry would cease to matter.

Should I try it?  What would you do?

(And by the way, if you’d like to hear the opening section of the Mozart’s Requiem, click this link.  You can actually find the whole piece here!  But if your time is limited, this will give you a taste.  It’s especially lovely between 3:10 and 4:20).

About Anne @ The Frump Factor

Reflections on beauty and style, for women who weren't born yesterday. Bring your sense of humor and "Fight the Frump" with me!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Jewels for a requiem

  1. Melinda Hobausz says:

    Hey, I like the first option best. I like all the pieces, but when you said jewels I was thinking amber. Do you have a silver necklace you could put it on? Fairly thick? I like the thickness of the black cord, but I think the black is too much with the whole black outfit. Might make you look cut off. Maybe you have a gray cord? Or a brown one? I also like the second piece very much, particularly for this type of event. It is elegant. Again, with a lighter cord, necklace, or even a collar in matte silver if you have one.

    If you decide to go without jewelry, I might suggest something with just a tad of sparkle in your hair. Not flashy, but just a little glint or shine. Something copper colored?

    • All good ideas. Alas, the only silver chain that I have is unwearable because it grabs the hairs at the nape of my neck and pulls them out. I could try picking up a thicker one, some day, but I’ve shied away from that so far because silver tends to look a bit harsh and cold on my skin. I used to wear that pendant on brown cord, and you’re right — that was a good fit. But it bit the dust and I have been looking for one like it ever since.

  2. I would defintely go for number 3…but in my world, the bigger the jewelry…the better! I think you look lovely and with the right touch of jewelry…you GOT IT!

  3. Terri says:

    Oh, I wish I could hear this! I have been pondering this very thing–about dressing for spiritual purposes and the many forms that takes. I work with a nun, but you would never know she was one by the way she dresses. I also work with a woman who identifies as a Sikh and she wears head to toe white year round. If I had to select one of these necklaces, #2 would be my choice.

    • Yes, it’s an interesting topic to ponder. And it does take so many different forms, it’s true. (Even the issue of wearing all-white versus all-black, and the symbolism suggested by each of those. Intriguing).

  4. Gail says:

    I like the recycled glass pendant. Your outfit may be simple but it looks very elegant, and can easily cope with the flamboyance of the glass. Enjoy!

  5. GingerR says:

    I think singing in a choir is an instance where your dress is supposed to be uniform-like.

    You’ve probably already sung by now but I’m voting for the glass. I would like it to hang a little lower on your chest so it sits more in the middle of the open neck of the shirt.

    http://www.insideoutstyleblog.com/2009/12/how-to-choose-necklace-to-work-with.html

    • You raise a good point about necklines. Ordinarily, I’d wear something big and bold to fill an open neckline like that. But when I’m trying to be low-key, it’s a little more difficult! I do have a chain extender, so maybe I’ll experiment with it.

  6. Anne, I like your look in the simple, all black outfit! The plain-ness of it highlights your face and hair. As for jewels, I am partial to the second necklace, because it has as you say, a cathedral feel to it. No bad choices. Enjoy your singing!

  7. Liz G. says:

    I vote for #2, even as a fellow non-religious person. It just seems right for the music you’ll be singing. (If I had a smart phone, I could send out a tweet as you walk onstage to let everyone know which pendant you finally chose. But then some usher would probably throw me out for failing to turn off my cellular device.)

  8. Ann Marie says:

    I vote for #2; I like the style and balance of it with the neckline of your top. Maybe I’m crazy…..but do you have any pearls…..?

  9. angie says:

    Maybe a different approach but I would go without a necklace .Instead I would wear a black shirt under my sweater buttoned all the way up. To bring different textures in the outfit. And I would wear a bracelet or a ring .

    • I like how you’re thinking, but I think I would just get too warm. You are so right about layers and textures, though. As part of my recent quest to style things differently, getting different looks without buying new clothes, I’ve discovered that mixing up textures does a LOT. It’s really true. (Now I’m wondering about a belt, too…….)

  10. WendyB says:

    I used to care about matching black tones…and then I just stopped!

Comments are closed.