Style goes to the dogs

There have been some recent changes here at Frump Central. After years of enjoying the freewheeling lifestyle of people without children or pets, Monsieur Frump and I have been granted temporary custody of a dog.

Meet Charlie:

Absurdly cute, isn’t he?  A little blurry, maybe.  (And I thought fashion photos were hard to get in focus!)

Charlie’s humans are in a bit of a bind, so he’ll be bunking with us for another week or so.  The responsibility was a little intimidating at first, since we think nothing of leaving the house for twelve hours at a time.  I wasn’t at all sure that our house had been sufficiently dog-proofed.

But Charlie is at least twelve years old, so he’s pretty mellow.  He doesn’t get into things much.  (Unless you count that little incident with the heartworm medicine.  “If you didn’t want me eating it, why did you put it in a tempting flavor-tab?”  That’s Charlie’s take on it, and he’s not exactly wrong).

But I digress.  Mister Frump is now officially the alpha dog, and I am second in command. It’s nice, sometimes, to have a reason to leave the office at a reasonable hour and come home to take a dog outside.

True, I’ve had a little less free time for assembling new outfits, shopping for fall items, or tweaking my beauty routines.  Instead, I have been observing the life (and style) lessons that a dog can teach. For instance:

  1. A black fur coat is very slimming!  So what if fleas and ticks can hide in it?  This is the price we pay for fashion.
  2. Beauty sleep is important.  Even if you have to go outside first thing in the morning, 6 am is still too damn early.
  3. Don’t fade into the background.  Stand right in the middle of the room and let the world admire you.
  4. Treadmill, shmeadmill.  Walking outside will put a spring in your step and keep you young.  Plus, you can stick your nose into all kinds of wonderful, wonderful things.
  5. How can you be bored when something as simple as a tennis ball provides hours of fun?
  6. Being cool and aloof may be stylish, but where’s the fun in that?  It’s much better to show everybody how you feel.  There’s no shame in whimpering when your loved ones leave and quivering with excitement when they return.
  7. It’s our creature comforts that separate us from the beasts.  Wolves may have slept on the forest floor, but that’s because they didn’t have access to fleece blankets.  Or sofas.
  8. If you greet the world with a cheerful smile and a sunny disposition, nobody will mind your smelly breath.  Well, OK:  they won’t mind too much.
  9. Don’t be afraid to age gracefully.  A little grey around the muzzle lends an air of sophistication.
  10. Just because you slow down a little with age, don’t think you can’t still have fun.  With the right motivation, you can still break into an enthusiastic trot.
  11. Listen to your doctor.  If the vet says you need arthritis medicine, don’t try to be a hero. Take the pill and continue to enjoy an active lifestyle! And a spoonful of peanut butter helps the medicine go down.
  12. There’s nothing wrong with maintaining a simple style.  Leave the cute sweaters to the little Paris Hilton dogs.  Classic dogs look best unadorned.
  13. You are awesome, just the way you are.
 Do you have pets?  (Or have you ever served as pet foster parents?) What do they add to your (life)style?
About Anne @ The Frump Factor

Reflections on beauty and style, for women who weren't born yesterday. Bring your sense of humor and "Fight the Frump" with me!
This entry was posted in Humor, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Style goes to the dogs

  1. Coastalharp says:

    Oh my goodness! Too funny, too true! Love it!

  2. Terri says:

    #6 is so well said and it is actually something I’ve pondered before. I love your sense of humor. This last puts our interest in style in perfect focus. 🙂

  3. Oh I love Charlie from afar. He has an expressive face, and he looks like he can sleep very well ; >

    We’ve never had a dog, but we’ve been owned by many sly, willful, persistent and overall fabulous cats. They definitely live by rule #3!

  4. Joy says:

    Awww!! Look!! So cute!! Yes. We have a chihuahua named Jake. He rules the house! He’s the baby! And he also has periodic seizures, so he takes 3 pills, twice a day. But we love him dearly!!

  5. Very funny!! I love your sense of humor…as I read this the cat was at the back door with a big bird in her mouth demanding to be let in….she just doesn’t get that this is a “no bird zone.” Why do we give them so much power?? I do want you to know though that he is really cute and I bet a great dog!!

  6. Ann Marie says:

    What a lovable dog…..I have a feeling you are not going to want to let him go back home……shared custody, perhaps…..?

  7. Anonymous says:

    Great post! And good reminder that if an older dog needs a home, he or she can bring a lot of wonderful things into our lives.

  8. @ Patti and Pam: We had cats for many, many years. They were wonderful (despite the dead birds and mice, which I remember well!)

  9. Anonymous says:

    I liked the lessons you learned from the dogs ,so true! I think humans have gone the wrong way and animals can teach us a thing or two.

  10. Beryl says:

    Great insights and very timely for me. My husband wants a dog for Christmas so badly, but I like being able to leave for weeks at a time. The complications of pet ownership vs all those pluses. You make some very good points, but it’s Charlie’s cute face that sells it.

  11. ariane says:

    Awwwww ! such a nice story – I have a cat that i adore – When i lived with my mother we had 5 cats, lots of fun, each of them had their personality- and you never knew we had 5 cats –
    We adopted most of them, my present cat was abandoned – he is been with me for 3 years now.

    There is a function on digital cameras to photograph pets –

    Ariane xxxxxx

  12. Paula says:

    Dogs or any pets add so much to one’s life! I am a total dog lover! When my friends oogle over a baby, I oogle over a dog. yup. love dogs. Am without one presently but that will change!

  13. Yes, we are petparents to 3 charming Airedale Terriers. In fact, Harry will be featured in my Visible Monday post. They are such an important part of our lives, our house would be empty without them. They are always happy to see you when you get home or even go from one room to another. I cannot imagine my life without them.

  14. Gail says:

    Great post Anne! Very true

  15. My fashion rules for life with animals: what can I wear that disguises dog drool/hair and where is the lint roller.

    I cannot, CANNOT imagine life without my animals. Yes, it is crazy and expensive and they are basically furry children who wake me in the middle of the night because they’re having dog dreams and finally caught that elusive dream squirrel, but I love them to pieces and bits and the moon and back. I will always have animals. Yes, in the plural. Right now we have two dogs and two cats and are sadly limited to that number as our house is too small as it is, but I can’t wait to get more.

    Plus it drives my mom CRAZY that I have so many animals and I don’t vacuum three times a day. So added bonus there!

  16. Lorena says:

    What a lovely and funny post.
    How very nice of you both to look after Charlie, seems like you are enjoying his company.
    I have 2 dogs, they are maltese and drive me crazy. I love them to death and feel guilty when I leave in the mornings…

  17. BigD says:

    I’ve learned to match the dog hair color to the carpet and my car’s interior.
    However, while the Yellow Lab works well with my camel-colored carpet, she’s not the ideal accessory for my black pants!!!
    So, I often wear my robe around (over my clothes) in the morning until I’m ready to leave.

  18. martinalynne says:

    Oh, my jealousy abounds! What a beautiful looking pup — I’ll admit that I’d badly like to play with him right now. I get to play puppy-sitter to a friend’s dog three days a week while he teaches and it’s pretty much the best part of my life.

    Thanks, by the by, for your kind words of wisdom and encouragement about my “girly” conundrum the other day. Sometimes it helps to be reminded that I’ll only be worried about looking too young for a little while longer…

Comments are closed.